Tennessee Opens to Direct to Consumer Sales
According to the Tennessee legislative webpage, Governor Phil Bredesen signed SB0166/HB 1155 into law on June 4th, legalizing direct shipments by wineries to Tennessee consumers. This is a pretty reasonable direct shipping bill, requiring a $300 fee and $150 annual renewal, payment of excise and sales taxes and the usual adult signature requirements. The consumer volume limitation is no more than 9-liters per consumer in a month and 27 liters (3 standard cases) per year. This is a big step forward for consumer direct shipping as it is another state adapting reasonable rules in conformance with successful direct to consumer shipping programs in other states, a trend seen recently in Kansas and hopefully soon, Maine. I haven’t seen an effective date but will get out the details once I have them. Still waiting to find out on the status of Maine, which is pending before their governor.